Colin Daymude’s Blog

Weight Loss Goal Day 3

Posted in goals, inspiration, Personal, Weight Loss by cdaymude on January 4, 2009

Lost 1.5 Pounds–New weight 202.5 from 209—-6.5 pounds in 3 days—-and not hungry and feel GREAT.

Exercise: 1 hour swim in the am from 7 to 8 while you were still sleeping on a Saturday morning!  I was very tired from the day before and used fins to keep up with everyone–oops then everyone got to use fins adn I was in trouble.  Helped a buddy cut up a white oak tree for most of the day and I’m sore today from it (we cut it and chopped it). So that was alot more exercise than I planned on today but changing things up is a really good idea. Not to mention I had a great time hanging out with a couple of friends, his dogs and horses. Not to mention my firewood pile is once again full. I love the smell of fresh cut wood.

Breakfast:My regular shake. An important part of losing weight is changing things up–not only your exercise but your diet (your body gets complacent easily). But honestly I can eat this shake as one of my meals every day. But I put different frozen fruits in and so it does give it different textures and tastes to keep it interesting.

Snack: You see that I have snacks every day–at least two, if not three times a day. That’s critical. If you let yourself get too hungry then you will overeat on the bad stuff later on. So I had about a cup of nuts and about an ounce of beef jerky. I had to plan ahead and take this snack with me since I knew I would be cutting down a tree and would not have my regular food supplies. Planning is one of the biggest factors in losing weight (or getting anything accomplished).

Lunch: 6 inch turkey and cheese sub from Subway–hey Jared knows what he is talking about. Whenever you have the opportunity to put what equates to a salad on your sandwich, that’s a good thing. No mayo of course–if you don’t have it for a while you will think it is disgusting. Because it is. Mustard may take some getting used to by some people but once you do you will realize that it is not only added flavor, but has essentially no bad calories. And a large diet coke! Yum–this really is dessert. Look at it this way, if you were stuck in the middle of a dessert for a week with nothing to eat or drink, the first thing you would want is a glass of water. So what we crave is all relative. If you get rid of the nasty stuff you have been eating—you will stop craving it and actually realize that it is nasty when you go back and try it later on. I have a huge sweet tooth but I think regular Coke is disgusting now that I am used to Diet Coke (I used to be hooked on regular Coke).

Snack: a few more nuts and beef jerky and a hard boiled egg–cause we didn’t eat until late.

Dinner: a burrito bowl from Chipotle. Yes I cheated on the “white” rule (nothing white) by getting white rice and cheese instead of salad in my bowl. But to be honest, I know i needed the calories and probably the carbs and I had waited too long to eat (had I had a healthy snack with me I would have been able to resist the rice).

Snack—no after dinner snack since it was so late and I was feeling pretty full from the Burrito bowl. Even though it is grilled chicken and salsa (a very good food) that dinner was still probably packed with a ton of calories and not all good ones. But if your hungry–you should eat–just make it something good.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Original post by Colin Daymude’s Blog […]

  2. Yudi Kerbel said, on January 20, 2009 at 4:08 am

    Colin – great stuff! We want some more updates…how’s the healthy living going?

    Take care
    Yudi


Leave a Reply

